Messi proud as Argentina wins final

On Sunday, after an exciting 3-3 draw in regulation and extra time, Argentina defeated the defending champions France 4-2. It was on penalties to win the World Cup. Messi proud as Argentina wins final. As a result of Emiliano Martinez’s penalty save off of Kingsley Coman and Aurelien Tchouameni’s miss, Argentina won their first World Cup since 1986 and third overall.

Kylian Mbappe scored twice in as many minutes for France in the 80th minute. As helping them tie the game after trailing by two goals for most of the game. Lionel Messi of Argentina scored a tap-in goal to put his team up 3-2 in the 109th minute. The France striker capped off his hat trick with another penalty kick in the 118th. In the first half, Argentina led 2-0 thanks to a penalty kick goal from Lionel Messi. As he was making a record-setting 26th World Cup appearance.

Messi proud as Argentina wins final

Then, after a beautiful four-pass counterattack, they scored again when Angel Di Maria finished off a cutback from Alexis Mac Allister. France’s World Cup final lineup includes Rabiot and Di Maria, but Argentina’s lineup is unchanged. Also, for Sunday’s World Cup final against Lionel Messi and Argentina, France’s Adrien Rabiot (who had been out with sickness) is back in the lineup, and Argentina’s Angel Di Maria has been added.

When the French national team defeated Morocco in the semifinals, midfielder Rabiot and center back Dayot Upamecano were left off the roster due to an illness that had spread across the group. Didier Deschamps has reinserted both of them into the starting lineup, with Youssouf Fofana and Ibrahima Konate being benched.

Thus, the rest of France’s starting lineup hasn’t changed, as cold-stricken center defender Raphael Varane is fit to play. While some have speculated that Kylian Mbappe would play in the middle and Marcus Thuram would start, Olivier Giroud has kept his starting spot in the French attack with Mbappe on the left.

Plus, the sole alteration from Argentina’s semifinal 3-0 win over Croatia was the inclusion of the seasoned Di Maria. In a three-man attack featuring Messi, Julian Alvarez, and the Juventus winger, Leandro Paredes moves to midfield. After Argentina’s 2014 final loss to Germany, only Messi remained from that team. Di Maria was also part of the squad, but the injury prevented him from playing.

Starting line-ups:

  1. Argentina (4-3-3)

Emiliano Martinez; Nahuel Molina, Cristian Romero, Nicolas Otamendi, Nicolas Tagliafico; Rodrigo De Paul, Enzo Fernandez, Alexis Mac Allister. Angel Di Maria, Lionel Messi (capt), Julian Alvarez.

Coach: Lionel Scaloni (ARG)

2. France (4-3-3)

Hugo Lloris (capt); Jules Kounde, Raphael Varane, Dayot Upamecano, Theo Hernandez; Antoine Griezmann, Aurelien Tchouameni, Adrien Rabiot. Ousmane Dembele, Olivier Giroud, Kylian Mbappe

Coach: Didier Deschamps (FRA)

Referee: Szymon Marciniak (POL)

Messi proud as Argentina wins final

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here